Posted in Verses

Green Temptation 

‘Go on, go on, a little bite’ 

The wily uncle tempted

As she sat in respite

The crafty task unattempted 

She stared at the little mango green

Placed in her tiny hand 

Eyes curious and keen,

An unsuspecting infant.

Two tiny teeth on her upper jaw

And two tiny ones on the lower

She smiled with them at all she saw

And o’er the fruit now did they hover

She bit down hard and as her face

Wrinkled in betrayal’s taste

Her uncle caught her sour gaze

In a click of notorious haste

For years to come, the photograph

Remained in the Favourites pile

For his sly capture made everyone laugh

And her innocence made them smile.

Note: My uncle was in college and experimenting with photography at the time I was born, and I was soon his favourite subject. All my childhood photos were taken by him, the first time I stood up, sat up, me creeping up the stairs.. I was around 7 months when the mango pic was taken, the first teeth just out and eager to bite into anything I got offered. I could almost taste the sourness every time I looked at it – me in a yellow dress with the very green mango in my hand and face scrunched comically. Sadly I lost it when I moved.


Author:

A wayward thinker hiding behind the facade of necessary courtesies

5 thoughts on “Green Temptation 

    1. I wanted to show it off to my school friends, in addition to some other precious ones. Stupid me left it behind at the hostel when I graduated I think. Never seen them after that. I still rummage through the albums once in a while, hoping they are wedged in there some place.
      These days I think photos aren’t all that precious, what with burst mode and cloud storage for the gazillion ones we manage to click everyday. But that was one of a kind. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

