Posted in Anecdotes

Smith’s Bday

Amigo DC and I decided to step out of the Health Centre for refreshments in the evening. The few patients trickling in were being managed by the interns anyway.

The aimless search ended prematurely as I spotted a café quite close to the centre that I had noticed once before, but did not check out. A typical tourist hotspot with the routine stock of shawls, cotton garments, incense, handmade soaps, bags and jewellery. As we settled in after ordering tea, I noticed a clock on the wall behind me. Another antique piece kept for sale perhaps.

I peered closer and noticed it said Richard, and then around the middle, what I made out to be ‘Smith’s Bday’.DC inquired whether I was interested in buying it, but I pointed out how the clock was dead, stuck at 2:12. 

She laughed. “Maybe that’s when Smith was born”.

I looked at her and then the clock in surprise, grinning like an idiot.

She was joking of course, but I liked the idea. Clocks set to immortalise the moment of your birth. 

 I didn’t inquire about the clock after all. I didn’t want to know if the clock needed a new battery or it had died of old age. Nope. I’d rather be grinning stupidly.

Because sometimes, to be stupid is to know magic.

Author:

A wayward thinker hiding behind the facade of necessary courtesies

Leave a Reply

