Posted in SYW

SYW – Week 50

This is in response to Cee’s Share Your World challenge. So here goes!

What is your favorite smell? What memory does it remind you of? My favorite smell is, was and always has been that of books. I’m an official book sniffer. The one thing I love to do when handed one, and this applies to textbooks as well, is open a random page and breathe it in. It doesn’t matter if it’s been freshly delivered or found in second hand bookstores (unless they are too dusty of course.) I think the smell takes me back to specific books from early reading days, especially those by Enid Blyton that I devoured as a child. I judge a book by its smell!

What kind of pet do you have or want to have ? We have an adorable dog, who is beginning to age. I wrote a post about him too. The idea of parting with him hurts so much, I don’t feel like having another pet. I have always wanted a squirrel though. My father apparently had one growing up, one that’d come sit on his shoulder when called and eat from his hand. I always thought it would be swell to have one like that.

Are you usually early, late or right on time? It depends really! If it is something that I’m excited about, like a movie or meeting up with friends I am always on time. But when it comes to less savory circumstances, I am nowhere near punctual. I procrastinate. Trying to break the habit though.

For recharging, would you rather meditate, swim, walk, listen to music, write, read, yoga, other? I sleep quite a lot. When I’m tired, bored, depressed. I always feel fresh after a nap. I do listen to music too, and writing sometimes helps me sublimate. (Hence the blog) Yoga and meditation are great too, but weirdly they make me feel sleepy rather than recharged!

What are you grateful from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? This is an easy one. I am literally waltzing around the room in ecstasy as my dreaded exams of the year are finally over. I think I did them better than I hoped to. For the next week, I plan to finally get back to everything that had been on hold due to said exams – blogging, reading Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov that I bought a month ago and a week long sojourn with friends in Chennai.

Have a great week ahead, everyone!

Author:

A wayward thinker hiding behind the facade of necessary courtesies

5 thoughts on “SYW – Week 50

Leave a Reply

